Author Topic: Clipper Resistors  (Read 321 times)

Boondocker

  • Newby
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Clipper Resistors
« on: September 10, 2016, 08:08:00 PM »
Hello,

Is the resistor, MNResistor600W-2.0, the right physical size to exchange out one of the existing resistors in the Clipper?

Thanks

Boondocker

dgd

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1639
    • Lorylink
Re: Clipper Resistors
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2016, 06:15:04 AM »
Should be ok,  however why are you replacing just one resistor?
What model of Clipper do you have?
dgd
Classic 250, 150,  20 140w, 6 250w PVs, 2Kw turbine, MN ac Clipper, Epanel/MNdc, Trace SW3024E (1997), Century 1050Ah 24V FLA (1999). Arduino power monitoring and web server.  Off grid since 4/2000
West Auckland, New Zealand

Boondocker

  • Newby
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Clipper Resistors
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2016, 07:04:18 AM »
Hi dgd,

The resistor question is in reference to an earlier post:  http://kb1uas.com/mnsforum/index.php?topic=2739.0

It is a 4KW AC Clipper equipped with 1.6 ohms of resistance.  I'm planning on swapping out on of the 0.8 with a 2.0 ohm resistor, to give each phase leg 2.8 ohms.

Boondocker

tecnodave

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 555
  • Learn something new every day
Re: Clipper Resistors
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2016, 07:13:00 PM »
Boondocker,

Not a good idea to do it that way......the 2 ohm resistor  will be disapating most of the power, approximately 2 1/2 times the power of the .8 ohm resistor

Depends on the power you need to dump, for max loading use two 1.4 ohm units in series

Using your setup would give approx 2200 watts load ability but with matched resistors max loading would be more like 3600 watts

David
Two systems side by side (100%redundancy): Classic 150/WBjr. 2kw. 72 cell poly PV Sharp NE-170, +Kid w 560w. Suntech 280 ,24volt L-16 400a.h. C-40 dervn cntl
Sys 1 ,Interstate,  Exeltech XP1100 & MS4024AE inv.
Sys 2, Rolls-Surette S-530, Cotek SK1500 & Dynamote Brutus
Systems can be connected as 1